Tifton First Assembly of God was begun in the fall of 1951 with the Rev. Lacey Whatley serving as the first full-time pastor after the Rev. Charles Rayburn conducted revival meetings in a tobacco warehouse east of Tifton. The revival was led by Evangelist Allie Taylor and made an indelible impression upon the entire Tiftarea.

               Under the pastoral direction of Lacey Whatley, R. B. Palmer and J. E. Harvell, the congregation located and established viable ministry on South Central Avenue in Tifton. In 1961, the Rev. O. L. Stokes became the pastor and led the congregation. In 1965, the growing congregation voted to relocate and establish a long range plan. After securing the property at 1800 North Central Avenue, the church relocated to the beautiful worship facilities in 1968. The congregation and its ministries continued to build and grow to its present 38,000 square feet of space in four buildings. One ministry sponsored and housed was Tifton Christian Development Institute, which began in 1972 to provide quality Christian daycare and education to hundreds of youngsters of the Tiftarea and served the community for more than two decades. Stokes gave pastoral leadership until 1994, and was followed by the ministries of the Rev. Stan Littleton, the Rev. Donald Saglimbene and the Rev. Robert “Eddie” Hutcheson.
              Our Current pastor John O. Thomas was elected and assumed pastoral leadership in November 2011. Thomas a native of north Georgia relocated to Tifton after 30 years of pastoral ministry in Alabama and Indiana. Serving alongside Thomas is his wife of 34 years, Cyndi; his son, John David Thomas, who leads the children and youth ministries; his  other son, Matthew Thomas, who serves over worship ministries. Passionate ministry for Christ is the life-blood of the Thomas family.
               As the congregation marks 64 years of ministry, Thomas said, “The congregation has a loving unity and zeal to reach Tifton for Christ. Our mission is to love God, love people and build his church.”

  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director
  5. Managing Director